Never trust a programmer …

… He may use his knowledge against you.

Today, I lost around three hours of work. Everything was normal – I wrote my code, ran the tests, was happy and committed it to git. Everything as normal; when suddenly my colleague said that my promised changes weren’t upstream. I looked, and it was true: No commits upstream. I checked my local history – no commits here either.  What?

It took me more than half an hour to find the mistake: My loved colleague next to me (which has seen the doctor today) modified my Egit-Plugin in Eclipse. He just replaced the command of my “Commit and Push”-Button by “Commit, Stash and hard-reset to master”. Don’t ask my why the stash, but debugging revealed exactly that.

So, today I learned: Never trust a programmer. Yes, that’s right: Don’t trust me, too.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment